All the Bright Places (Book Review)

Description:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

 

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

 

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

 

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

 

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Source: goodreads.com

Get the book: All the Bright Places

4.5/5

This book is gigantic. It has everything in it.

The book was written with two perspectives, Finch’s and Violet’s. If there’s something that I have to really point out, it’s how the two characters were well-written. Finch didn’t overlap Violet’s attitudes and characteristics, and vice versa. That’s a check for passing my never-underestimate-comtemporary-novels standards. JK! ;D

The book is centered on two suicidal teens… Ugh. Teenagers… Impulsive. Wild. Curious. Regrettable-decision makers. I had my fair share of being a wild teenager but no way near the two characters’ story. I couldn’t imagine myself meeting a friend when I’m about to jump on top of a building. That. How. I mean. That’s crazy. Even crazier when friendship develops into love.

But everything has to come to an end. Short-lived happiness need to live up to its description.

When I found out that Finch was dead, I couldn’t believe it. I was like, “That’s it? That’s it?! No. That body is not his.”. 

Curiosity killed Finch. I guess now he knows what’s on the other end of the pitch black spot.

I guess the saddest part was at the funeral. Seeing the students who were rude to him present there angered me, too.

This was one sad story but wrapped with many realizations.

I love the book and Niven’s writing. What set me off was the reviews talking about not being so original. Are you kidding me? THIS BOOK IS ORIGINAL FROM FRONT PAGE TO THE LAST PAGE. HAVE YOU EVEN READ THE AUTHOR’S NOTE?

I am a reader and details in a story matter. This book has everything.

(Now bracing myself for Niven’s new book, Holding Up The Universe)

– Marice

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s